Bullying: 5 things I have learned

I have spent the last 15 months really focused on improving my life, making heart changes, and focusing on becoming the person that I would want to call my best friend… I am getting close :)

Last year, I left a very toxic job at a start-up company because of work place bullying that wasn’t only happening to me but was also happening to some of my coworkers. I wouldn’t say this company was a bad company but there were many instances where the gossip was so bad across the board that I hated my life for a good 3 months straight. I finally had to quit for my own sanity and because I felt that there were some serious moral issues being pushed under the rug.

I left and went 100% full force into my business. I took it from nothing to a business that turned a profit and sustained me. I learned a few things…

1. What someone whispers about you is really just a screaming reflection of their character. Their insecurities flow from their mouth in mumbles.

2. Toxicity is toxicity and unless you remove those people from your life they will find anyway to break you down. Be the bigger person and move on.

3. Surround yourself with people who are the strength to your weakness and lift you up daily.

4. Take vacations often. Life can get so compounded sometimes that it’s hard to wake up everyday carrying the weight of your personal life on your shoulders. People pick up on that so easily and hurt you with it. Take a break and some deep breaths.

and lastly,

2c6162aa3f31eaadaba3569b6b4bdd5f

I came across something a few days ago that was said by one of my former coworkers that was a very recent dig at me. (the joys of having mutual friends on social media) I couldn’t believe that 15 months later this person was still trying to bully me.

To that person, I forgive you for all of the times you made rude comments in my direction, I forgive you for all of the times that I left work in tears, and I forgive you for making my life so unbearable that I felt forced to quit my job.

I hope you can find a productive focus in your life and that your heart will be healed and happy so you can also refocus your energy on improving your own life. Life’s short and words hurt. Be the example you would want your daughter to see.

Best,

signature

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bullying: 5 things I have learned

  1. Pingback: Female Friendships | Say Yes Events

Leave a Reply

