Moving on

Oh what a BUSY busy week I have had! In 7 days I decided to move out of my apartment and into an apartment closer to the city. West Seattle baby.

I had nothing packed and I was probably not emotionally ready to say good-bye to the apartment where I built my life. Luckily, I have an amazing husband that always goes along with my wild crazy ideas! I convinced him to pony up the money, pack boxes every second he wasn’t working, and finally move every piece of heavy furniture we own, all on his only day off.

The hardest part of leaving my old apartment was knowing that my biggest life changing events happened there. It was the first place that I lived in for longer than a year… ever. My childhood was spent moving homes and schools every single year, sometimes twice. I made this tiny 450 square foot apartment my home. I met my husband, he moved in, we got married, added a dog to our family, went through a 15 month deployment, got pregnant, had our daughter… I grew from a teenager to an adult, wife, and mother in my small tiny apartment.

I will miss the crystal door knobs and the art deco tile the most. My apartment was in the oldest residential building in historic Kent. It was built in the early 1920’s so it had lots of charm. I remember working 2 jobs the summer before so I could save up enough money to move. I spent every last penny I had. A few months later my dearest friend moved in a few doors down from me. Sunday night dinners, playing risk, bottles of wine, and working downstairs at the coffee shop together… all will go down in history. Amazing memories.

Thanks for reminiscing with me.

 

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving on

  1. Harold Frink says:

    Great post Amanda.

  2. stefarnold says:

    I love your blog! I love the way you write, so raw and from your heart. Feels like we’re having a conversation.
    This post made me tear up… brings back the memories we had in leaving our first home in CA. It was hard to say goodbye, even though we were on to bigger and better things.

    Best wishes in West Seattle!

  3. Sarah says:

    I felt I was right there with you while you told us your grow up story in Kent. 🙂 I’m missing the apartment for you too. Especially the cool Kent location and the deco inside. 🙂

Leave a Reply

