Time for Happy Hour– Lemongrass Mojito!

So last week I made it my goal to make, shoot, and post a new drink every Friday! Here is my first attempt. I am in no way a photo stylist (unlike my friend Adrian over at Garnished who use to photo style for Kelley Moore [check out both blogs, talented ladies with amazing ideas!!]) My inspiration came from a delicious Mojito I had at the Matador a few nights ago. I knew I wanted to do something with rum. I was excited when I received the new issue of Bon Appetit because they had a recipe for a Lemon Grass Mojito, YUM!

LEMONGRASS MOJITO

2 lemongrass stalks

6 large fresh mint leaves

3 tablespoons of sugar

6 tablespoons white rum

3 tablespoons fresh lime juice

ice cubes

1 cup of chilled club soda


Microwave lemongrass on high for 40 seconds. Cut bottom 7 inches from each stalk. Slice thinly (save top for garnish). Combine sliced lemongrass, mint, and sugar in shaker; mash well with a muddler. Add rum and lime juice until all sugar dissolves. Strain into 2 highball glasses. Fill with ice; top with club soda. Garnish with lemongrass tops and lime wedge.

I really enjoyed this mojito, I do not own a microwave (that is a whole other blog topic) so I skipped the step of microwaving the lemongrass. I think that not microwaving it was the reason I couldn’t really taste the lemongrass. In short, don’t skip that step! Otherwise a delish drink and I went back for seconds. Literally.

Enjoy.

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time for Happy Hour– Lemongrass Mojito!

  1. adrian says:

    aww thanks for the shout out amanda! Nice work! Love your idea of…..well….. drinking every friday for “work”. 🙂 Genious! Cute post! CHEERS!

  2. Kym George says:

    Good job! I’m trying that drink tomorrow.

  3. marissa says:

    These sound great and the picture is the icing on the cake! I just may have to try it….my mind started to try to think of alternative ways to bring out the flavor of the lemon grass without the microwave. It has to be done!

    Oh! I have also made mojitos with cilantro…they are delish, if that’s your thing at least. It’s a particular taste!

    Seconds? YES PLEASE 😉

Leave a Reply

