{Real Party} Adyison’s 1st Rainbow Birthday Party!

My little girl is finally 1! I have been ‘planning’ this party since I was pregnant… but having changed my mind a million times I finally decided on this theme just a few days before the party. We went with a rainbow theme!! Adyison is such a colorful little girl always making people smile and she has a very comedic side to her. Rainbows seemed fitting when I started thinking about her personality. Also, our spring here in Seattle has been gray, damp and very cold. I felt like we needed to brighten our spirits by adding some color. Surprisingly, we had one of the first sunny days of the season on the party day. Here are some photos that I snapped of the party.


I really feel like the most important part of a party, wedding, or a simple dinner to entertain a few guests is having something organic. Like flowers! It makes people smile. Never skimp on flowers… I really like the wholesale flower market which is where I purchased these flowers {at an amazing price} I borrowed some matching vases from a friend and I lined them up in ROYGBIV order. It makes a beautiful statement.

{side note: always ask the florist what flowers can and can not be put together.. the daffodils have a toxic sap that will kill any other flower in the vase with in hours of arranging}

I made a rainbow wreath for the front door by using some fabric that I had and a wire hanger. I simply cut the fabric into strips and tied them on to the hanger. We hung this on the front door along with a line of balloons to mark our house for guests.

We had party hats that I made out of paper and various ribbons for all of our little guests

My final DIY project was to make toothpicks to hold our little sandwiches together. I got this great idea from my friend Megan over at Spot on Events. I took large toothpicks and hot glued colorful pompoms to the tops! It’s all in the details, right?

My friend Sarah baked us some amazing buttermilk coconut cupcakes that we frosted in different colors and laid out from red to purple. We also made fruit skewers with different fruits that created a rainbow, appealing to the eyes and belly!


Can’t forget about the birthday girl! Having her first piece of cake and offering dad a bite!

I am so happy with the way the party turned out! I can not wait for next year!

enjoy.

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

