{8 Steps}

I love this info-graph that lays out some simple {but not always easy} steps to take for a more creative life.

1. Do What You Love! This blog is named Do What You Love because I am a firm believer that when you surround yourself with inspiration and creativity, happiness will follow. Life is so precious and short; there should never be a day wasted doing something that physically, emotionally, and spiritually drains you.

2. Don’t be a complainer. I think this statement is in direct correlation to Step 1. If you are doing what you love you shouldn’t have anything to complain about. I find it helpful when I am feeling low to simply take a break. Take a nap, take a walk, or take some time to do a low-key activity and just let your brain rest. Often times, we have temporary emotions that we allow to take control of our entire day. Sometimes, just to poke fun at myself and smile… I will go back and lay in bed… then get up again. You feel so silly that you are bound to let go of what was bothering you!

3. Trust your ‘gut’ — I am a creature of habit and I love the security of my routine. Over the years I have missed opportunities because I was so rooted in my comfort zone and I look back and wonder what could have happen. My major goal for this year is to trust what I feel inside. I have a deep faith in Christ that when I am given an order by my ‘gut’/holy spirit/or through prayer I am to follow that order… and I do believe that whatever is needed to see me through that hurdle will be there to support me.

4. If an opportunity scares you, TAKE IT! Maybe that is the true test, overcoming fear for the possibilities that await on the other side? I am not good at this…. again, I loooove my comfort zone. In retrospect, anytime that I have ever taken the scary opportunity I have always left feeling satisfied!

5. Find like-minded people. I am the type of person that feeds off of energy of those around me. I love being around passionate people who ooze creativity.

8 Steps For a Creative Life

{Photo Credit}

6. Collaborate. I have made friends with people I would have never known simply by collaborating with them. I find that I learn more about me and gain a great deal of satisfaction by simply lending my time and a helping hand. Collaboration is so important in the creative field. Often times people get very secretive with their ideas but that kind of behavior only closes doors. Creative people need other creative people… that is how it works.

7. Ignore the Haters. There will always be people who oppose you, criticize you, and think that they can do better. I have experienced this over the last year and I find that it is important to continue to be kind and humble but it is okay to set boundaries. I have had to tell many people who I respect that they bring toxic negativity and unwarranted criticism to my life, and that is not something I want to expose myself to. I respect myself enough to know when what is being said is helpful or harmful. Sometimes you just have to cut ties. Your self-esteem and confidence will thank you later.

8. Inspire Others! As a creative person my ultimate goal is to inspire others. I want to create with the purpose to spark something within someone else. I love seeing the joy on a person’s face that is blown away by something that I helped to create.

I am so happy that I was able to use these steps to think about how they apply to my life. I hope you are able to go through these steps and think about how you can use them to give a creative leg-up in your own life!

So, here’s to 2013– My creative life starts NOW! {and so can yours!}

signature

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

