New Year — small choices.

I wake up most of the time excited for the new day {any day} and the fresh start but the feeling you get waking up on New Year’s Day is a little different. It’s the butterflies in your tummy, colors are brighter, and hopes are higher kind of feeling. You feel refreshed and ready to race against the clock that was just restarted. A year long marathon, 365 days—- starts NOW!

I am a mother of a 2.5 year old and my goal over the last few years was to change my eating habits. I did not have the goal to lose weight but I wanted to feel healthier {I was getting sick, along with my daughter on a monthly basis}

Fast forward to the last few weeks. I decided that my 2013 goal was to workout. Something I have NEVER done. When I say never, I literally mean that somehow I got out of high school PE, managed to squeeze by doing a few yoga classes, and if my life was on the line and I had to run…. I wouldn’t. Yep, I would choose death over moving my feet in a forward motion. {I will also admit that I have a giant yoga/exercise ball in my living room that is pretty much for decoration… I’ve never used it! but I keep it around just in case I decide to knock out 100 crunches.. shhhh… don’t tell anyone!}

So, with that said… No exercise, ever. I joined a Crossfit Gym. Insanity… and I told myself that I was going to make it to the gym EVERY SINGLE DAY. That worked… for 2 days. My daughter came down with the flu and I have been away from the gym for 5 days now. Not a big deal, except that I wanted to start this New Year off ‘right’ and here I am day 3 and already slacking. I started thinking today about why I was so hyped last week and so down this week… I never planned on throwing in the towel but I was completely disappointed in myself…

In addition to feeling a little low today, I had a conversation with some friends about weight and how much I/we had gained during pregnancy.. and when the words came out of my mouth that I was 250 lbs, I almost couldn’t believe it. I could remember the scale saying that but I couldn’t remember what I looked like or how I felt. I decided to come home a do a compare and contrast to jog my memory.

exercise

Boy, oh Boy! I had totally forgot!! I look back at these pictures and I do not remember looking like my old self but I do remember times of happiness and accomplishment. I remember getting small compliments and feeling good about myself!

I realized that over the last 2+ years I have lost over 80 lbs and it was all because I made small choices… and that is an accomplishment! I don’t need to beat myself up for missing a few days at the gym and I need to shift my goal of EVERY SINGLE DAY to something do-able. Making it one day a week is 100% increase from 3 weeks ago! I decided to re-word my goal to say, “Make small choices everyday to get to the gym.” This seems more do-able then saying, “Work out at the gym EVERYDAY!’ I can look at my goal as ‘a small choice’ as opposed to ‘a must.’ It makes an off day feel a little less disappointing and gives you the ability to make the ‘choice’ tomorrow!

Basically, my point is… Do not forget to look back to see how far you have come. Beating yourself up because of failure will not get you closer to your goal. Heck, I am 3 days in and already fell off the horse… but tomorrow I will make the choice to climb back on! Our lives are made up by days that can be filled with small choices. Just make one different choice a day and with-in time, you too will see a difference!

{tip: make it a habit to compliment people, you will feel good and so will they}

signature

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

