{Labor Day} Weekend

My Labor Day weekend consisted of moving. Actually, I wouldn’t call it moving. I swapped apartments with my neighbor and it was so well orchestrated that we managed to get it done in 2.5 hours!

It was by far the easiest move I have ever had. Last month my landlord told me that a 1200 square foot 2 bedroom apartment was coming available and asked me if I wanted it. Apartment unseen I said, YES! {I have been living in a 550 square foot 1 bedroom- for the last year} I did end up viewing the apartment for about 3 minutes but it was so dark inside that I couldn’t remember anything about it after I left! So, for 3 weeks I went to bed every night trying to remember what my new place was going to look like. Saturday was moving day and I have to say I was so over whelmed at how AWESOME the apartment ended up being!

I snapped a few images of my favorite details: {this is a rental and I wish I owned it because I would be painting and taking it back to it’s 1912 roots in a heartbeat!}

20130903_162532

You are probably wondering why I have Christmas decorations out… Well, I am designing a Christmas tree for charity and I started collecting very early last Spring and I have no where to store these items until December so they have become a staple in my home decor.

The entire apartment has 12′ ceilings, which I love! It feels huge! The downside it that it is broken up with trim and the white above the trim doesn’t match the white below. I wish I could paint it like this: a lovely gray blue on the bottom and a crisp white on top.0f97fe67bbf04e2c0fed06049504280e

I love the stained/painted chevron floor. I also have 2 tones wood floors that you can kind of see in the bottom left of the image. It this apartment was mine I would totally paint the darker large square in my living room with a pattern!

20130903_162621

I am still unpacking but I did get my bar area set up and I can’t wait to get it stocked with a good gin, whisky, and tequila!

20130903_162356

I love the lead glass built in bookcases that are in the dining room. I wish I would paint them white like this:

aa96de3e3d5c43f2ec10dbdf2ec5cd69

My last little weekend find that will be the perfect addition to my new little apartment is this cane chair in great condition that I snagged for $10 at Goodwill! I went to Jo-Ann’s and picked up some white spray paint and fabric and this will be my little project this week. {I’ll post photos and directions for the DIY}

20130903_161901

I don’t know how long I will stay in the apartment. I will be completely honest, I LOVE Tacoma and it’s quirkiness but my heart yearns to be back in Seattle. I miss the culture, people, and hustle and bustle. I will be working hard to make this new place my home but I am going to try not to get to attached 🙂

Stay tuned for my chair DIY!

signature

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

