#NYFW | Oscar de la Renta

New York Fashion week is over and I have been following Twitter, Instagram, and the well-known bloggers to suck in all of the excitement from Seattle.

The New York Times did a creative layout to show some of the hottest designers. They broke down the looks by color story. My favorite was definitely Oscar de la Renta! I loved the color, patterns, and silhouettes.

As I was looking at his line I couldn’t help but think of the 2014 wedding season! These images are for his Spring line and are not meant to be Bridal but I think that he is on to something in terms of color and style!! I think next year we will move away from the Art Deco/Great Gatsby look and start to move towards the sherbet 1950-1960’s look.

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

{…but even Oscar wasn’t ready to say goodbye! This dress is simple take on the Gatsby style!}

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

I love the detailed embroidery on this dress and the cut is very 1960’s Mod. Embroidery is something that I think will popular next year. We saw a lot of Mexican influences this year between the cactus making a comeback and the fiesta style parties that were being thrown everywhere. I think this is going to start showing up in clothing next year and even in weddings!!

Runway fashion always has an impact on bridal fashion. We always see trends starting on the runway then showing up in bridal collection but in tones of white!

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

I see pattern on pattern making a come back- wether it’s literally 2 patterns in one fabric, lace on lace, or patterns paired together.

I also think that we will see more 2 piece dresses in 2014!

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

I am loving this 2 piece tunic and skirt. The cut is simple and sophisticated. I could see a bride rocking this at her elopement!!

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

 I love the tiered layers, scalloped edge, and simple silhouette.

Bridal Inspiration | Oscar de la Renta 2014 #NYFW

This is probably one of my favorite dresses! I can see a bold bride sporting this color on her big day but I also see this silhouette being popular in white! It is edgy and feminine.

What do you think? I would also encourage you to check out the rest of his line.  I stuck to the “It could go bridal” looks but the rest of his line is Ahh-mazing! You will see the late 1950’s early 1960’s cuts, embroidery, and pattern on pattern played out in vibrant colors!!

signature

Images sourced from Oscar de la Renta’s website.

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

