My love/hate relationship with Architecture

The last few weeks have pushed my life into a direction that I honestly didn’t think was possible anymore. I love love love my new business and I will continue to dedicate my time to growing it but I now have the opportunity to go back to the University of Washington and finish my degree. I have my AA but I want to finish my BA. Now comes the hard decision… I need to declare a major.

My first year at UW was spent in the pre-architecture program. I had a love hate relationship with it. I LOVED the non stop drawing and drafting. I hated that it took up every second of every day. When I dedicate myself to something I do it whole heartedly and my big fear is that now that I have Adyison I will not have the time or energy to give the program my all. (that was a very hard sentence for me to type) I am going to sleep on it for a few weeks. Here are a few drawings (the first 2 are my own) that make me miss the endless hours on location and at the drafting table.

 

Quarter 1: I think I did well considering I learned Photoshop and Illustrator in a single night 🙂 This project made it to the final show.

Quarter 2: A structure for the Seattle Sculpture Park. Designed to catch rain and create a natural water feature. This project also made it to the final show with a very high grade 🙂

Sketches

I love this sketch. I prefer to sketch in pen because it give a finality to your lines. I also like that you can easily understand scale in this drawing.

I love the spacial awareness and white space in this sketch.

Pen and color and perfect lettering. You can’t get any better than this. ♥

I hope that I can come to a decision soon.

enjoy.

 

 

About sayyesevents

I am a lover of all things pretty, a strong drink, a long talk, a stack of magazines, a hard crossword, an early morning walk, a big challenge, and a cozy snuggling with my daughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to My love/hate relationship with Architecture

  1. adrian says:

    Wow. Glad to hear your biz is doing well. That makes me feel good! You deserve success. You are a hard worker and very dedicated to your success. I hope that you are able to take that leap and figure out where you will land. Looking forward to finding out where that is! Thinking of you girlie!
    A

Leave a comment